Sicangu woman; a beautiful independent, self-assured

Sicangu woman; a beautiful independent, self-assured

By .

          

 

Once Upon a time, in Rosebud, a beautiful independent, self-assured Sicangu woman, happened upon a frog as she was contemplating ecological issues on the shores of an unpolluted pond in a verdant meadow near her tipi.

 


The frog happened into the Sicangu’s lap and said: “I was once a handsome Oglala, until an Iktomi cast a spell upon me. One kiss from you, however, and I will turn back into the wonderful, young Oglala that I am and then, my sweet, we can marry
and set up housekeeping in your tipi with my Mother, where you can prepare meals, clean my clothes, bear my children, and forever feel grateful and happy to do so.”

Later in the evening after finishing her meal of frog legs she paused and looked out at the pond. She laughed gently as she remembered her day.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

